africat lion

Where are you going for a holiday to remember in 2013?

I find myself at this time of year thinking about where to go on holiday, not least because television is packed with adverts for holiday destinations.

Another element is that the temperature in Europe is cold and the weather miserable and in the USA the weather has been diabolical.

The atlas comes out, and a wish list is made in my head, then discussed with my wife. Budget is, of course, a concern, but my motto is carpe diem – seize the day. You only have one life and you have got to live it.

That’s why, high on my priority list is Namibia. As Chris Packham, the world renown TV presenter, said “… I am constantly yearning to return to, to be back in, Namibia. It’s like a magnet whose draw I cannot resist and I am never disappointed…”

Chris Packham at Okonjima, Namibia - home of AfriCat
Chris Packham at Okonjima, Namibia – home of AfriCat

My friend James, has a deep interest in Namibia and the education of pre-school children, he believes that “on the principle that the most important period of a child’s development are years zero to seven, we feel that improving the nursery school experience will have positive knock-on benefits through-out the education system.”

I hope that James will invite me to come to Okonjima, Namibia with him to see the progress that the Perivoli Schools Trust (which he set up) has made over the past year, to see the lovely smiling children that James is helping, to ensure the future for Namibia. To see the work that AfriCat is doing to rehabilitate carnivores, to see the beauty of the animals in a natural habitat.

Oryx on the open savannah at Okonjima, Namibia
Oryx on the open savannah at Okonjima, Namibia

Have a very good 2013, and if you can, come to Okonjima in Namibia and see what all the fuss is all about.

Mark

Leave a Reply

